The Socratic Method

One of my professors uses the socratic method of teaching in his class which means that there is a good chance you will get “cold-called” and that you will receive feedback in front of the whole class. While intimidating, I can respect this method as my professor said that he uses this to help prepare us for our jobs after we complete the MBA program.

Since I work in a large, fast-paced, corporate organization, I agree that this method will certainly prepare students for what they may face “in the real world”. There are many times when I need to debate with others to make important management decisions and am often “cold-called” during meetings. One of our guest speakers, Reza Satchu, also uses this method for his class as he believes that you learn best when in “maximum discomfort”. I would be lying if I said there weren’t times when I was highly uncomfortable during this class!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections, Rotman

Leave a comment