Entrepreneurs

I am one of the many TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) fans out there and this talk from Jessica Jackley, co-founder of Kiva, was brought to my attention recently by one of my classmates.

It’s no surprise that I’m heavily interested in the nonprofit sector and I think that this TED talk is a great example of why I wanted to do my MBA at Rotman to help prepare me for the next step in my career. Jessica is a self-proclaimed Philosophy and Poetry major but managed to create a website/community/service that supports microfinancing to entrepreneurs living in poverty around the world. After only a few years, it has facilitated over $100 million in loans. I would love to apply my integrative thinking skills to support causes like those at Kiva and entrepreneurs like Jessica.

What also struck me is Jessica’s own emotion and passion behind Kiva. This is almost as important or even more than creating the perfect business plan or operations strategy. It’s a component that we often overlook. I’m discovering at school what my professors and classmates are passionate about. This makes the education come alive and motivates us to keep plugging away especially in courses that don’t necessarily interest us…

I was honoured to have a classmate ask me to join her in a business plan competition at Rotman facilitated by the Rotman Entrepreneurship Association (REA). This is my first time competing at Rotman but I’m excited about the experience. But what I’m most excited about is helping my classmate put together a business plan so that she can explore her passions.

1 Comment

Filed under Speakers

One response to “Entrepreneurs

  1. Pingback: Who Wants to be an Entrepreneur? « Life Analysis

Leave a Reply

