Choosing an MBA School

It seems like now is the time when people are starting to think about what school to choose to do their MBA. While I don’t have a tried & true formula that guarantees the perfect choice, I can tell you a little bit about why I chose Rotman and provide some tips in choosing a school for you. (Can you tell I like lists? All my recent posts have been lists…)

  1. The Morning MBA program – there wasn’t another option like this in Toronto. I knew that mornings would be best for me so this feature alone helped me select the right school.
  2. Reputation – let’s face it: Rotman is an excellent school. I don’t think I need to sell you on this. BusinessWeek provides a nice virtual tour & overview of Rotman.

Honestly, those were the only two points for me! Rotman was my first choice and I am very happy with the education that I am receiving here.

For those of you trying to figure out what school to go to, here are some things to do to help you in your research:

  • attend an information session – these usually provide a good overview of the school & the application process including key dates.
  • sit in on a class – as soon as I sat in on a morning class at Rotman, I knew that this was the place for me
  • chat with current students – Rotman has ambassadors that represent the school to prospective students. It was helpful for me to chat with a current student and find out what it’s really like to study at Rotman.
  • read a student blog 🙂 – of course I’m biased but this is a great way to follow students on their journey and get the inside scoop on life as an MBA student

Let me know if you have any questions that I can answer for you!

1 Comment

Filed under Rotman

One response to “Choosing an MBA School

  1. Thanks for the post, I actually loved the article. It proved to be Very useful to me and it’s always good when you can not solely be informed, but additionally be entertained! I’m positive you enjoyed penning this article. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

