Morning vs. Evening MBA

My elective course that I took during the Summer Intensive Term last week as held on Monday – Thursday from 6:30 – 10pm, Saturday from 9am – 5pm and then the final exam was the following Monday evening. It was my first time taking evening classes and it made me realize that I made the right choice in choosing the Morning MBA program!

I really have to say that evening classes are not for me unfortunately. First, my job is one where it is sometimes difficult to leave before 6pm so I was rushing to class more than once during the short term. Also, my job is fairly busy so I’m quite tired at night. Let’s just say that I found out that I could sleep with my eyes open during this elective course!

I have a lot of respect for the Evening MBA students – they must have a lot of stamina. But for me, the morning classes from 7 – 9am are perfect. I get up only a bit earlier than my normal time and I’m in the office by 9:30am sometimes 9:15am if the subway isn’t too crowded.

The morning option was really what brought me to Rotman. There wasn’t another quality business school in Toronto offering this type of program. And I am finding the culture very different from the Morning to the Evening students. Each program tends to attract students in the same situations and the Morning program is a very good fit for mine. But don’t take my word for it – try it out for yourself!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a comment